Faith Storms 

Faith is a fragile thing. On Sunday the preacher kept declaring that “Faith isn’t about feelings but what the Word of God says”. 

I remember nodding my head in total agreement. It sounded purely logical – our belief in the existence of God isn’t about feelings either. I was sure I’d always be confident in God come what may.

How then do you tell this to a girl who prayed hard and believed so much despite the fact that are exams went really bad and ended up seeing a very awful result. Or that mother who believed so much for a healing notwithstanding what medical reports said and ended up losing her young daughter.

I can go on and on. It’s easy to boldly declare what we believe in when things go right. When they don’t…. 

I recently had a conversation with an amazing person I just met. Of course, we veered to religion. I always do.

He says, 

“I have trust issues. I wouldn’t leave everything to God, that way I don’t get disappointed and I know it’s my fault when things go wrong.”

There’s a story of disappointment somewhere. Someone’s hope and belief crushed like a broken winged bird.

Yet, I’ve always depended on God all my life and of course I defended him. He wants the best for us. 

Mo was discouraged about her result and she told me she felt bad about feeling discouraged. What happened to all her faith and trust in God? God would be disappointed in her reaction and lack of faith. 

Here I was again, speaking God’s word and boldly declaring, “Let’s speak the scriptures. Faith isn’t about feelings. God loves you too much to care about a little unbelief” 

Today, I’m disappointed. I know I shouldn’t be, I should speak God’s word… All things work together for good. I flopped my Contract exams and other people did well in theirs.

I couldn’t even relate the questions to the course itself. Everything I knew, the estoppels and Pinnel’s case, Terms of contract, Consideration, Fundamental breach and the likes weren’t asked. For once, I was extremely confused during an exam. I prayed afterwards, believed so much. I even thought I heard God speak comfort and hope to me.

Seeing my result, I feel awful.

I feel awful about feeling awful. God has been so faithful to me, why should I care if he didn’t help me pass one course. Why should I feel bad the Holy Spirit didn’t explain the exam to me and he helped others to pass?  Why am I unhappy that my roommate who hardly reads or prays had an impressive Gp increase while I see mine leaking and bleeding?

Romans 8:38-39: For I am sure that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things to come, nor powers, nor heights, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate ME from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. 

Picture Credit: Manuel. For the fears you chased and the tears you wiped. 



ρя£sђ¥  ℓąℓą

16 thoughts on “Faith Storms 

  1. This is so honest and totally relate-able. So many things I’ve prayed for and believed in haven’t happened. Even just recently, I felt disappointed. But we’ve gotta believe again and trust God again because He loves us so much and knows what’s best for us! Thanks for the encouragement. I pray God keeps encouraging you as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Preshy baby!!! Don’t feel disappointed. Bank on God’s word. It never fails.

    Beautiful writeup. Truth is, faith is easy when the going is good. It is tested when it isn’t.

    I’ve had similar experiences but I’ve learnt to trust God. After all, all things work together for the good of them that love God and are called according to His purpose.

    Kudos on being encouraging even when its apparent you need encouragement.

    It’ll only get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jesutofunmi says:

    Beautiful article. Faith is believing God against all odds.
    Few weeks ago I failed my final medical exams and it was really disheartening because I read, prayed, spoke God’s words ,was before and throughout the exams.i felt cheated because I felt at peace all through the exams,even after.
    I questioned God, all I got was an assurance it will end in praise. That sounded weird until recently my friend failed his ecams and I was able to comfort him and encourage him with God’s word. Nothing is changed but I still have joy
    God is ever faithful and present help in time of need.
    Stay strong. Keep your praise up.
    Thanks Preshy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can totally relate to the topic of faith storms. I too have had my faith level ebb and flow. I think that is the human condition, to be honest. I heard something about answered prayer recently; just because you didn’t get a yes, or a passing grade, doesn’t mean your prayer wasn’t answered. An answer can be yes, no or not right now. We have to have faith that God will give us what we need when we need it and that what He knows we need isn’t always what we think we need. If that makes sense at all. Great post…I was so encouraged when I read this in your post. “Yet, I’ve always depended on God all my life and of course I defended him. He wants the best for us. ” That is all we need to remember to help restore our faith when it falters…He wants the best for us. Amen! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Diran says:

    Nice one Presh. Indeed, our faith cannot be based on our feelings because if it were, it would also become volatile. May the gift of faith be ours more and more 🙌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

